Bahrain drawn in Group D in AFC U23 Asian Cup

Kuala Lumpur, May 25 (BNA): Bahrain was drawn in Group D of the AFC U-23 Cup Qatar 2024.

The national team will face Japan, Palestine and Pakistan on September 4-12

The candidates were divided into 11 groups – 10 groups of four teams each, with the last group containing three groups. Meanwhile, Qatar will play in the qualifiers in order to appear with its matches classified as friendlies.

Played in Qualifiers from September 4-12 this year, Group A will feature hosts Jordan, Syria, Oman and Brunei Darussalam vying for the only automatic ticket to the finals.

Group Two will see 2020 champions South Korea (H), Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan and Qatar compete with Vietnam (H), Singapore, Yemen and Guam in Group Three.

Japan, the 2016 champions, finished top of Group D with rivals Bahrain (H), Palestine and Pakistan while the 2018 draw placed Uzbekistan (H), Islamic Republic of Iran, Hong Kong, China and Afghanistan in Group E.

Group Six will witness the participation of Iraq, Kuwait (H), Timor-Leste and Macao, winners in 2013, with the UAE, India, Maldives and host China in Group Seven.

Hosts Thailand lead Group H with Malaysia, Bangladesh and the Philippines and are also aiming for a place in the finals while Group A will see the participation of Australia, Tajikistan (H), Laos and North Korea.

Defending champions Saudi Arabia (H), Cambodia, Lebanon and Mongolia have been drawn into Group J, while the three-team Group K draw will see Turkmenistan, Indonesia (H) and Chinese Taipei battle it out.

READ MORE  Giggs steps down as Wales coach

The AFC U-23 Championship Qatar 2024 is scheduled to take place from 15 April to 3 May 2024.

Draw result

Group A: Jordan (H), Syria, Oman, Brunei Darussalam

Group B: South Korea (H), Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, Qatar

Group C: Vietnam (H), Singapore, Yemen, Guam

Group D: Japan, Bahrain (H), Palestine, Pakistan

Group E: Uzbekistan (H), Iran, Hong Kong, Afghanistan

Group F: Iraq, Kuwait (H), Timor-Leste, Macau

Group G: UAE, India, Maldives, China (H).

Group H: Thailand (H), Malaysia, Bangladesh, Philippines

Group A: Australia, Tajikistan (H), Laos, North Korea

Group X: Saudi Arabia (H), Cambodia, Lebanon and Mongolia

Group Eleven: Turkmenistan – Indonesia (H) – Chinese Taipei


Source link

Leave a Comment