Elzahrawi captures double, Zaydan keeps up winning ways in National Race Day at BIC

Manama, Feb. 6 (BNA): Muath Al-Zahrawi and Mohammed Zaidan were crowned champions in the third round of the National Race Day, which was held at the Bahrain International Circuit, “the home of motorsport in the East.” east”.

Al-Zahrawi had double the cause for celebration, notching an impressive double in Round Three of the 2022/2023 BIC 2000cc Challenge. Meanwhile, Zidane maintained his winning ways by entering the race in the second round of the 2023 Bahrain Motorcycle Championship.

Runners in both groups hit BIC’s 2.55-kilometer indoor track for plenty of hot racing.

The National Race Day was organized by BIC in collaboration with the Bahrain Motor Federation, Circuit Racing Committee, Bahrain Motorcycle Authority and Marshall Motorsports Club.

In the 2000 cc challenge, Majed Hamo started his day off by leading the practice schedule but in qualifying, Al-Zahrawi took over and took pole position in race one with a fastest lap of 18.336 seconds.

In the opening 12-lap race, Al-Zahrawi held off early with Hemo and championship leader Andrew Ray leading. But Al-Zahrawi grabbed the lead on the seventh lap and held out until the checkered flag to win his Honda Civic with a total time of 16:25.160.

Andreas Boileau got a strong finish in his Honda Civic to claim second place behind Al-Zahrawi by 4.694 seconds, while Hemo, behind the wheel of another Civic, finished last on the podium 5.426 seconds off pole.

Basem Al Alawi in his Honda CRX came fourth, Issa Ibrahim ranked fifth in his Civic, and Ray ranked sixth in his Honda Integra.

READ MORE  FIFA dismiss Chile complaint, Ecuador to keep spot at World Cup

In race two, Ibrahim and Al Alawi were on the front row following the reverse grid rule, but it didn’t take long for Al Zahrawi to gain the advantage. He went to pole position on the second lap and never looked back. Al Zahrawi enjoyed a comfortable lap of 10.816 seconds from Buelow at the finish, with Al Alawi finishing third, 10.844 seconds behind.

In the Bahrain MotoGP Championship, Zidane was looking to continue his success from the first round and he did so immediately by setting the pace for qualifying. But Nawaf Rashid then took first place in the first race, with Zidan and Ali Adebi at his side.

However, Zidane made a great start and immediately took over as captain. He held his position brilliantly for the entire 18 laps of the race to win in a time of 21:30.647. Zidan was again in control, enjoying a huge lead of 13.727 seconds over the overall runner-up, Nawaf Rashid, while Adebi finished third in 20.104 seconds.

Zidan also took first place in the 600cc class, followed by Adibi and Mohammed Al-Sadiq. Rashid won the 1000cc class with Alexander Qabazard and Khaled Al Yacoub behind him.

After all the racing events, the winners were presented with their prizes at their podium ceremonies attended by the officials.


Source link

Leave a Comment